Wednesday, July 30, 2014

What's that guid doing in my screen customizing transport?

Ever had the situation where you have a transport with screen customizing, but you don't know which screens they are for?

In the CRM UI Framework, you have the possibility to customize screens. A powerful and flexible tool to create screens fully adjusted to the needs of the end-user.

The customization of the screens is done directly from the CRM webclient. As this is customization, the changes should be done in the development system and will be transported through your landscape, eventually to production.

The screens you customize are stored in XML files. At runtime, the system will determine, based on the context, which XML should be used for the screen layout. When you create a new screen layout, a GUID is generated as an identifier for the specific screen you have created.

When you look at your transport, you will only see a node called CRM UIF, Dynamic Layout Configuration / Customer Layer, containing a few guids... So, how do we know which screens they are?

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

How-To setup Multi-level categorization

In one of our earlier blogs (, my colleague Emiel Truijen wrote about how to add additional levels in Multilevel categorization.
In this blog I will explain the specific steps to setup Multilevel categorization for Complaints and how to maintain the categories.

There are 2 important steps in order to create the Multilevel categorization.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Service & Repair? Yes, also available in the Cloud.

We know that SAP Cloud for Customer is already supporting retail execution. The business scenario where Sales Reps visiting retail stores is end-to-end supported and also completely mobile enabled. Read more about the retail execution functionality here.
What a lot of people don’t know, is that SAP Cloud for Customer also offers a full process support of the Service & Repair scenario. Yes that process which can take weeks to implement in SAP CRM on-Premise. I will show a clear step-by-step description of the process in SAP Cloud for Customer in this blog.

The business process shown in this blog:
  • Service tickets
  • Register "work" as service item on the service ticket
  • Assign work to an service agent
  • The service agent will pick up the work on his mobile device
  • Plan a route
  • Register work hours on the service item
  • Add repair parts
  • Complete his work
  • Look at the reports

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Additional levels in Multi-level categorization

The Multi-level categorization in CRM offers a flexible way to classify your business transactions. The categorization can also be used to trigger follow up actions like e.g. response time determination in service request (see blog SLA determination based on categorization), propose knowledge base articles or propose a team for dispatching. Multi-level categorization is available in variety of transactions like e.g.:

• Service orders
• Service order templates
• Confirmations
• Complaints
• In-house repair orders
• Service requests (incidents)
• Problems
• Requests for change
• Knowledge articles
• Interaction records

By default the Multi-level categorization shows 4 categorization fields/levels on the screen. Service requests, Problems and Requests for change even have 2 predefined blocks of 4 fields, one block for Subject and one block for the Reason.

If these 4 levels are not enough you can easily extend the number of categorization fields on the screen. CRM currently supports up to 10 levels. In the following steps I will explain how you can extend the number of categorization levels on the screen.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

SAP in the cloud: Seeing is believing

Yesterday, SAP Netherlands organized an event together with Acorel which was named “Seeing is believing”. We had numerous SAP customers visiting the SAP office in the Netherlands, where the location was transformed to a setting in which different SAP Partners hosted round tables to discuss the Cloud solutions from SAP.